MAE.SUN ( is a band formed by saxophonist, vocalist and composer, Hailey Niswanger. The drive behind this project is to awaken the sun of awareness in each of us. It is a call for the shift in collective consciousness that is needed in order for society to change. A change that will be possible by realizing the interdependent nature of reality. Hailey is very influenced by the teachings of Vietnamese Buddhist monk, Thich Nhat Hanh, when composing as MAE.SUN. The project is intended to be performed and listened to as a suite of music, taking you through a journey of thoughts, feelings and perceptions, that ultimately change every time the music is performed. MAE.SUN is a fusion of genres, influenced by contemporary jazz, neo-soul, hip hop, world music, and much more. The project has been referred to as modern spiritual music, which seems to be the most fitting. 

MAE.SUN is based in New York City, and has performed at National Sawdust as part of The Revolution series and ‘We Are Here’ benefit concert, Club Bonafide, and Williamsburg Music Center. Their first album, Vol. 1:Inter-be, was recorded in December 2016 and it set to be released the beginning of summer 2017. The core members of MAE.SUN are Hailey Niswanger on soprano saxophone, vocals, and all compositions, Nikara Warren on vibraphone, Axel Tosca on keys, Andrew Renfroe on guitar, Aaron Liao on synth and electric bass, and David Frazier Jr. on drums. MAE.SUN has also regularly featured Paul Wilson (Bae Bro) on keys, Davy Levitan (Space People) on guitar, Spencer Murphy on bass, and Louis Cato on drums.


PDX Soul - 2015

  1. I'm Gone
  2. Skytime
  3. Say What It Is
  4. Let a Woman Be a Woman, Let a Man Be a Man (feat. Andy Stokes)
  5. Yes I'm Ready (feat. Tahirah Memory)
  6. You Should Know
  7. Look Out
  8. Take Me To The River (feat. LaRhonda Steele

NPR Review of PDX Soul here.

Hailey Niswanger - Alto and Soprano Saxophones (all tracks), Thara Memory - Trumpet and Vocals (tracks 3,6,7) , Janice Scroggins - Keyboard (tracks 1-6,8), Errick Lewis - Bass (all tracks), AG Donnaloia - Guitar (all tracks), Louis Pain - B-3 Organ (tracks 3,5-8), Brian Foxworth - Drums (tracks 1,3,4,6), Israel Annoh - Drums (tracks 7,8), Christopher Brown - Drums (tracks 2,5), Renato Caranto - Tenor Saxophone (tracks 3-5,8), Stan Bock - Trombone (tracks 3-6,8), Ben McDonald - Trumpet (tracks 3-5,8), LaRhonda Steele - Vocals (track 8), Andy Stokes - Vocals (track 4), Tahirah Memory - Vocals (track 5, 6), George Colligan - Keyboard (tracks 1,6), Curtis Craft - Percussion (tracks 2,6)

Album type

The Keeper - 2012

  1. Scraps
  2. Straight Up
  3. Norman
  4. Milestones
  5. Ravine
  6. Played Twice
  7. Balance
  8. Night and Day
  9. Tale of Dale
  10. "B" Happy
  11. The Keeper

Hailey Niswanger - Alto and Soprano Saxophones, Takeshi Ohbayashi - Piano, Max Moran - Bass, Mark Whitfield Jr - Drums, Darren Barrett - Trumpet (tracks 4, 5, 9)


Confeddie - 2009

  1. Four In One
  2. Oliloqui Valley
  3. Confeddie
  4. La Mesha
  5. Sometime Ago
  6. Serenity
  7. Stablemates
  8. Yes Or No

Hailey Niswanger - Alto Saxophone, Michael Palma - Piano, Greg Chaplin - Bass, Mark Whitfield Jr - Drums